90210 review

Publié le par series junkie seriesjunkie@gmail.com

I completely forgot to tell you what I thought about the new 90210 ! Well, I have to shamely admit that I liked it !!! But let's face it, it's still a teen show and it's still 90210, nothing more, nothing less, so it's pretty much what I expected but I guess it disappointed a lot of people who forgot what they were dealing with !
So let's start with what I thought was wrong with that pilot ! First of all, it looked too much like the original with the siblings arriving to Beverly Hills, coming from Kansas. The storylines were updated a little bit but how many teen shows can we make without repeating ourselves ? And another point : they promoted it as this new hip, daring, racy show but, except maybe for that blow job scene at the beginning (although we didn't see anything), the tone is about the same as in the old one. The core family is as nice as the Walshes so the tone tends to get a little preachy at times.
Now the good parts ! The grand-mother is hillarious and a great addition !!! I love some of the cast like Lori Loughlin (Aunt Becky in Full House and the aunt in Summerland), Rob Estes (Melrose Place), Shenae Grimes (Degrassi next generation) and the guy who plays Dixon, her brother. 
And of course, why did I (and everyone else for that matter !) really watch the show ? For Kelly and Brenda !!!! Dah ! And I was really happy to see them again ! Especially Kelly with her adorable 4 1/2 yold son. I also really liked her love interest (Ryan the teacher). I thought the fact that the dad (Rob Estes) might have a don somewhere with his daughter's new best friend (Naomie)'s mom was interesting. And I liked the fact that they didn't forget about Erin (Kelly and David's sister), now called Silver. And I was surprised by Linda Gray's appearance : awsome !!
But most of all, what I really want to know is who is Sami (Kelly's son)'s father ? She was apparently on the phone with him during the night when the kid woke up. And then, from her conversation with Brenda, we could guess that it's Brandon. But I would be surprised that Brandon would abandon his son like that : he's a pretty stand up guy ! 
Or Brandon is not the father but he's been in Sami's life. Or the person she was talking to on the phone is not Brandon. It could be Dylan. Or it could be someone we haven't met yet ! So many possibilities. But I bet they'll go for either Dylan or Brandon !! Let's hope !  
Oh and another funny appearance : Andrea's daughter ! And I loved how Ryan says "how old is this girl anyway ? 30 ?" in reference to the fact that Gabrielle Carteris was 29 when she started the show ! By the way, wasn't Andrea pregnant way after Kelly's mom ? SORAS (soap opera rapid aging syndrome) strikes again !!! Unless I'm mistaken : I mean, it was 10 years ago, even more !
Anyway, it's a teen show so I'm not totally into it but all and all I liked it and as long as Brenda and kelly (particularily Kelly) are on it, I'll keep watching !! Next week, Kelly's mom is in the house !! So that should be interesting ! Plus, more Brenda !!! I'm excited !!

Publié dans 90210

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article